EFCC Convicts 37 For Internet Fraud In Ibadan


The Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has secured the conviction and sentencing of 37 Internet fraudsters to various terms of imprisonment, fines, and community service.

The convicts were prosecuted before Justices Mohammed Owolabi, Ladiran Akintola and Mojeed Ishola of the Oyo State High Court, Ibadan; Justice Olanrewaju Mabekoje, A.A. Babawale, O.O. Majekodunmi and O. Ogunfowora of the Ogun State High Court, Abeokuta and Justice Ayo Emmanuel of the Federal High Court, Osogbo, Osun State between January 10 and March 6, 2023.

They include Olubanji Dare, Abdullahi Olalekan, Salau Abdulazeez, Joshua Showemimo, Awotunde Sunday, Abegunde James, Sadu Babatunde, Emmanuel Oluwasanya, Joshua Okunlaja, Emefele Kelvin, Lateef Abiodun, Salawu Ismail, Azeez Rasaq, Akinleye Abdul-Azeez Oloruntosin, Quincy Okonma, David Olayiwola, Balogun Olanrewaju, Adebayo Bolaji, Makinde Busola, Ojekunle Apesinola, Akorede Abimbola, Olowofela Omolaja, and Olatunde Sulaiman.

Others are Fagbamiye Temitope Akinola, David Mautin Sadagbande, Odunjo Fodirudeen Bamidele, Abayomi Gideon Ayeni, Folorunsho Samuel Oluwatobi, Amoo Abdulmalik Ademola, Shittu Toheeb Ife, Stephen Godwin Olawoye, Oladimeji Ayomide Michael, Arasi Taiwo Bolaji, Sulaiman Lateef Damilare, Olori Daniel Oluwaseun, Ganiu Jamiu Adufe and Akinlagun Oyindamola Tomiwa.

“Upon their arraignments on a separate one count each, they pleaded “guilty” except Fagbamiye Akinola who pleaded ‘not guilty’ and the case went into full trial.

“Fagbamiye was arraigned on 18 counts which bordered on money laundering, an offence contrary to Section 15 (2) (d) of the Money Laundering (Prohibition) Act, 2011 (as Amended) and punishable under Section 15 (3) of the same Act.

During the trial, the prosecution called one witness and tendered 10 exhibits that were admitted in evidence.

On February 7, 2023, Justice Emmanuel, in his judgement, pronounced Fagbamiye guilty as charged and sentenced him to two years imprisonment on each of the 18 counts, which is to run concurrently,” the EFCC said in a statement on Thursday.

Justice Emmanuel, however, gave the convict an option of N200,000 fine on each of the 18 counts, amounting to N3.6 million.

Other convicts were sentenced to different jail terms ranging from two months to one year of community service or three months to one-year imprisonment with option of fines.

Also, the courts ordered that the convicts restituted their victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government.

Leave A Reply