The lineup AFCON team of the tournament has been unveiled, with notable player Victor Osimhen notably absent from the selection.




The Confederation of African Football has unveiled its 2023 Africa Cup of Nations Team of the Tournament following Ivory Coast’s triumph as champions, defeating Nigeria 2-1 in the final match.

The selection features the top 11 players from the recently concluded AFCON, with notable omission Victor Osimhen from the list. Despite his significant contributions, the Napoli striker only managed to score one goal against Equatorial Guinea and provided two assists in matches against Cameroon and South Africa.

Among the selected players, Nigeria is represented by three individuals: defenders Ola Aina and William Troost-Ekong, along with winger Ademola Lookman.

Additionally, Cote d’Ivoire’s head coach, Emerse Fae, received recognition as the best manager for his pivotal role in guiding Côte d’Ivoire’s impressive resurgence throughout the tournament.

Here is the CAF’s Team of the Tournament: Goalkeeper: Ronwem Williams (South Africa)

Defenders: Ola Aina (Nigeria) William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria) Chancel Mbemba (DR Congo) Ghislain Konan (Cote d’Ivoire)

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (South Africa) Jean Michael Seri (Cote d’Ivoire) Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire)

Forwards: Yoane Wissa (DR Congo) Emilio Nsue (Equatorial Guinea) Ademola Lookman (Nigeria)

Leave A Reply